Top 5 Stately Homes - Easirent
Easirent Logo
Loading

Call Us On

1888 901 5169

Easirent Support

Request a

CallBack

Top 5 Stately Homes

Manchester is perfectly situated for a day trip in your Easirent hire car, with its central location there is plenty to see and do. Why not take a trip around some of the regions most celebrate stately homes? Here at Easirent we have picked out some of our favourites for you to visit.

1. Arley Hall and Gardens

Hop in your Easirent hire car and head to Arley Hall and Gardens, home to the Arley family for over 550 years. Steeped in history, Arley Hall houses some of the most elaborate ceilings and oak panelling of any of the stately homes in the country. Situated on the site of the original house which was built in 1469, visitors can lose themselves in the grand interiors which include beautiful stained glass windows and magnificent fireplaces. Take a walk around the gardens which are some of the finest in Britain and Europe and are home to a famous herbaceous border.

2. Dunham Massey

Situated on the site of an early medieval castle in Dunham Massey which was first referred to in 1173, Dunahm Massey is today home to some of the most spectacular winter gardens. Easily reachable from our Easirent pick up point in Manchester Airport, Dunham Massey has lots of things to do to keep the whole family entertained. Explore the fine gardens and orangery or take part in one of the many activities, which include woodland walks, barefoot painting and puppet making.

3. Tatton Park

Probably one of the most well known estates in the country, Tatton Park is a neo-classical mansion with 50 acres of landscaped gardens and a 1000 acre deer park. Take the kids to see the animals in the authentic 1930s working farm or simply while away the hours in the perfectly symmetrical library, which is in keeping with the neo-classical style of the house and houses over 8000 books. While you’re there, make sure you check out the music and drawing rooms, which are some of the most ostentatious in the country.

4. Lyme Park House and Garden

Fans of Jane Austin’s Pride and Prejudice won’t want to miss out on a trip to Lyme Park House and Garden. The great lake outside the house was the setting for the infamous scene from the BBC adaptation of the novel where Elizabeth Bennett encounters Mr Darcy during a trip to Pemberley. Take a walk around the stunning Edwardian rose garden and the perfectly preened herbaceous gardens before heading inside the house to explore its lavish interiors.

5. Heaton Park

Home to only two families since it was built in the mid 17th centry, Heaton Park is just a short drive from our Easirent depot at Manchester Airport. Designed by James Wyatt in 1772 the house is a Grade II listed building with nine listed structures for visitors to enjoy in the gardens. Take the kids along and enjoy a donkey ride or a segway ride through the grounds.